Kaplan Award Application

The Center for Biological Physics is pleased to announce two awards made possible by the generosity of Mr. Richard Kaplan and his company Ultramet.  The graduate award will provide $4,000 for one year to further the education and research of the awardee while continuing his/her studies at UCLA. The undergraduate award of $1,000 will be offered to a graduating senior with a specialization in biological physics in recognition of his/her superior scholarship and future academic potential. 

Both awards will be announced on June 1, 2015 and will be presented at the physics department graduation ceremony. 

Graduate Award: The graduate award in biological physics will partially support the continuing work of graduate students in biological physics. All graduate students working with members of the Center for Biological Physics are invited to apply. To be considered please submit the following to the award committee by March 15, 2015:

- Curriculum Vitae 
- A short statement (three or fewer pages) explaining your current research interests and future academic plans. 
- A nomination letter to be submitted by your advisor.  

Undergraduate Award: All graduating seniors with a major in physics or biological physics are eligible for the undergraduate award. Selection criteria include both scholarship and undergraduate research. To be considered for this award please submit the following by May 15, 2015

- Two recommendation letters from UCLA faculty commenting on research and/or scholarship. 
- An updated academic transcript. 

Click here for information about obtaining your transcript from the Registrar's Office. An unofficial copy is acceptable, but please scan your copy and include it with your other documentation.

How to apply: Please make sure you have all the necessary documents before sending in your application by email. Make sure to indicate whether you are applying for the graduate or undergraduate award. Send to your application email plus attached documentation to: cbpdirectoratphysics.ucla.edu (subject: Kaplan%20Award%20Application)

Award Committee: The current award committee includes:

- Alex Levine
- Robijn Bruinsma
- Bill Gelbart 

Members of the committee will serve for a three year term.